Thai cuisine is known for its balance of five fundamental flavors in each dish or the overall meal - hot ( spicy ), sour, sweet, salty and bitter. Although popularly considered as a single cuisine, Thai food is really better described as four regional cuisines corresponding to the four main regions of the country: Northern, Northeastern ( or Isan ), Central and Southern. Southern curries, for example, tend to contain coconut milk and fresh turmeric, while northeastern dishes often include lime juice.

Monday, January 29, 2007

Recipe: Green Papaya Salad

1 medium green papaya
4 garlic cloves
6 green Thai chilies
2 tomatoes, cut into wedges
1/2 cups chopped green beans, 1 inch pieces
2 tablespoons fish sauce
2 teaspoons palm sugar (or substitute regular sugar)
1/4 cups lime juice or tamarind juice
1/3 cups dried shrimps
1/4 cups peanuts

Roast the peanuts in a hot and dry frying pan until they get color.
use a pestle and mortar to chop the garlic and chilies and the dried shrimp, add the tomato, continue to chop. Add the lime juice, the fish sauce and the palm sugar. Shred the papaya pour the mixture in the mortal over the papaya and mix well and then add the roasted peanuts. Serve with sticky Rice



ThaiWeb said...

I like som tam so much!

I put a link to your blog in my directory. I hope you don't mind. ;-)

Nam Prik said...