Thai cuisine is known for its balance of five fundamental flavors in each dish or the overall meal - hot ( spicy ), sour, sweet, salty and bitter. Although popularly considered as a single cuisine, Thai food is really better described as four regional cuisines corresponding to the four main regions of the country: Northern, Northeastern ( or Isan ), Central and Southern. Southern curries, for example, tend to contain coconut milk and fresh turmeric, while northeastern dishes often include lime juice.

Friday, January 12, 2007

Recipe: Coconut Ginger Chicken Soup

3 fl. oz. chicken stock
4 teaspoons galangal, sliced
4 teaspoons lemongrass, sliced
8 pieces kaffir lime leaves
1 cup chicken, sliced
7 fl. oz. coconut milk
1 cup sliced mushroom
4 tablespoons carrot
2 tablespoons fish sauce
1 teaspoon fresh chili
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
2 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon fried chili
2 sprigs fresh cilantro

In a pot, bring stock to a boil.
Add galangal, lemongrass, kaffir lime and simmer for 1 minute.
Added chicken; stir until cooked.
Add coconut milk; bring to boil.
Add mushrooms, carrots, fish sauce, chili, lime, sugar.
Bring to a boil.
Garnish with fried chili and cilantro.

No comments: