Thai cuisine is known for its balance of five fundamental flavors in each dish or the overall meal - hot ( spicy ), sour, sweet, salty and bitter. Although popularly considered as a single cuisine, Thai food is really better described as four regional cuisines corresponding to the four main regions of the country: Northern, Northeastern ( or Isan ), Central and Southern. Southern curries, for example, tend to contain coconut milk and fresh turmeric, while northeastern dishes often include lime juice.

Wednesday, January 10, 2007

Recipe: Spicy Thai Beef Salad

500 gr. beef sirloin, sliced
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon pepper
1/4 cup onion sliced
1/4 cup tomato sliced
1/2 cup cucumber sliced
3 tablespoons red onions sliced 1-inch pieces
2 leaves torn lettuce

2 teaspoons green thai chili
4 teaspoons garlic minced
4 tablespoons fresh lime juice
4 teaspoons sugar
4 tablespoons fish sauce

In a bowl, mix together all dressing ingredients. Set aside.
Marinate beef with soy sauce, vegetable oil and pepper.
Grilled beef until cooked; slice into thin long strips.
In a large bowl, toss together beef strips with onion, tomatoes, cucumber, red onions and dressing.
Serve beef salad on top of lettuce leaves.

No comments: